Make your own free website on

Player Selection

Elite Eight


  • Patrick Roy
  • Martin Brodeur
  • Curtis Joseph
  • Ed Belfour

On March 23, 2001, the first eight players on Canada's Olympic Hockey Team were announced by team boss Wayne Gretzky. Also known as the ELITE EIGHT the players are mostly veterans from the NHL.

Mario Lemieux, owner of the Pittsburgh Penguins was choosen as the team captain. Forwards Paul Kariya, of the Anaheim Mighty Ducks, Owen Nolan, of the San Jose Sharks, Joe Sakic, captain of the Stanley Cup Champion Colorado Avalanche, and Steve Yzerman, captain of the Detriot Red Wings will play with Captain Lemieux along with defencemen Rob Blake, also from the Stanley Cup Champion Colorado Avalanche, Scott Niedermayer, of the New Jersey Devils, and Chris Pronger, captain of the St. Louis Blues.

The full team roster will consist of 23 players and will be finalized by December 22, 2001. The following is a list of others you can hope to see on Canada Olympic Team.